You are currently viewing What They Don’t Know: Review of New Suspense

What They Don’t Know: Review of New Suspense

What They Don’t Know: New suspense by Susan Furlong

Review + Book & Author Info + Giveaway!


What They Don’t Know

What They Don't KnowA picture-perfect suburban life fractures . . . and a darker reality bubbles beneath the surface.

Mona Ellison’s life is as perfect as the porcelain dolls lined up on her shelves. She has a successful husband, a loving son, a beautiful home, and a supportive group of girlfriends ever ready for their weekly wine night.

But when Mona’s son gets entangled with the wrong crowd and runs away from home, her blissful suburban world begins to unravel. She tells her friends that boys will be boys, that he’ll be back as soon as his money runs dry . . . but deep down she knows there’s something else going on.

Then the police show up at Mona’s door. A young girl has turned up dead in their quiet town, and her missing son is the prime suspect.

Determined to reunite with her son and prove his innocence, Mona follows an increasingly cryptic trail of clues on social media, uncovering a sinister side of suburbia and unveiling lies and betrayal from those she trusted most. And as Mona spirals further from her once cozy reality, a devastating revelation shatters everything she thought she knew. Now the only thing she’s sure of is that she can’t trust anyone . . . not even herself.

With unrelenting psychological suspense and a wicked twist, What They Don’t Know marries small-town thriller and domestic mystery—suburban paranoia at its best.

Genre: Suspense
Published by: Seventh Street Books
Publication Date: May 17th, 2022
Number of Pages: 286
ISBN: 1645060403 (ISBN13: 9781645060406)

To purchase What They Don’t Know, click on any of the following links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads


My Thoughts on What They Don’t Know

Susan Furlong ticks every box a reader of domestic suspense expects: an empathetic—if unreliable—narrator, unexpected plot twists, and a dark atmosphere complete with creepy dolls.

Mona Ellison and her husband are moving away from the old Victorian they’ve owned for years, to allow Ben, a psychologist, to live closer to his work.

But the Ellison’s son Gus, no longer the perfect little boy he once was, runs away from home before they even finish packing. Convinced he will return when his money runs out, Mona tries to keep up appearances, as all good suburban wives and mothers do. And appearances matter in this suburban enclave.

Mona also has to leave behind the women in her neighborhood — her tight-knit, if imperfect, inner circle. “We all had things we’d buried lately, things we’d rather remain in denial about. Selma didn’t let herself spy on Victoria; Alice pretended she’d moved on from her husband’s infidelity; Tara acted as if she’d actually chosen to be single at fifty, and I’d denied Gus’s behavior problems, making excuses and bailing him out of trouble, over and over.”

But it’s hard to remain in denial, especially when murder is afoot and the police come knocking.

Furlong does an extraordinary job of creating complex, flawed, and fascinating characters. Each of the women in Mona’s circle are unique, not an easy task with a group of four friends and a protagonist of similar ages and backgrounds.

Further, who is a friend and who is a foe jumbles together as Mona’s own hold on reality turns questionable. What is Ben doing behind Mona’s back? Is Gus trying to reach out in his own, 21st century way?

If you love a good page-turner, look no further. What They Don’t Know will keep you guessing until the final unexpected twist.

Perfect for fans of Tara Laskowski and Jess Lourey.


Excerpt from What They Don’t Know

It was the last Tuesday of the month, our normal book club night, and we were gathered at my house—Selma, Alice, Tara, and me—settled in the living room, Moroccan rug plush beneath us, immersed in the decor’s eclectic mix of whimsy and Old-World aesthetic. This would be our last book club meeting, but it was more than that, really. It was a pulled thread in the carefully woven tapestry of our friendships that had begun in college and endured careers, weddings, our first-borns, and remained constant through affairs, divorces, and much worse …

***

Excerpt from What They Don’t Know by Susan Furlong. Copyright 2022 by Susan Furlong. Reproduced with permission from Susan Furlong. All rights reserved.

Susan Furlong — Author of What They Don’t Know

What They Don't Know

Susan Furlong is the author of eleven novels including SHATTERED JUSTICE, a New York Times Best Crime Novel of the Year. She also contributes, under a pen name, to the New York Times bestselling Novel Idea series.

Her most recent novel, WHAT THEY DON’T KNOW, has been praised by reviewers as an engrossing and delightfully creepy read. She resides in Illinois with her husband and children.

To learn more about Susan, click on any of the following links: www.SusanFurlong.com, Goodreads, BookBub – @SusanFurlongAuthor, Instagram – @susanfurlong, Twitter – @Furlong_SueFacebook – @SusanFurlongAuthor


Don’t miss any of my book reviews! Click the link here


Visit all the Stops on the Tour!

What They Don't Know

05/09 Review @ Lynchburg Reads
05/09 Showcase @ Silver’s Reviews
05/10 Interview @ Novels Alive
05/10 Review @ flightnurse70_book_reviews
05/10 Showcase @ Books, Ramblings, and Tea
05/11 Review @ Wall-to-wall Books
05/11 Showcase @ 411 ON BOOKS, AUTHORS, AND PUBLISHING NEWS
05/11 Showcase @ The Authors Harbor
05/12 Review @ The Mystery of Writing
05/12 Showcase @ I Read What You Write
05/13 Review @ Book Reviews From an Avid Reader
05/13 Review @ Kritters Ramblings
05/14 Review @ Review Thick And Thin
05/15 Interview @ Mythical Books
05/15 Showcase @ Brooke Blogs
05/16 Review @ rozierreadsandwine
05/17 Review @ pages_and_pups
05/18 Review @ Cover To Cover Cafe
05/19 Showcase @ The Bookwyrm
05/20 Review @ The world as I see it
05/21 Review @ Reading Is My SuperpPower
05/22 Review @ @ mokwip8991
05/23 Review @ Book Reviews & More by Kathy
05/24 Showcase @ Nesies Place
05/25 Review @ Nanasbookreviews
05/26 Review @ Quiet Fury Books
05/27 Interview @ CMash Reads
05/29 Review @ 5 Minutes for Books
05/30 Review @ Celticladys Reviews
05/31 Review @ erikalaceyreads
06/01 Review @ One More Book To Read
06/02 Showcase @ Books Blog
06/02 Showcase @ Geauxgetlit
06/03 Review @ Jersey Girl Book Reviews
06/03 Review @ Melissa As Blog


Elena Taylor is the author of All We Buried, available now in print, e-book, and audio book format at all your favorite bookstores and on-line retailers.

For more information on All We Buriedclick on the link here to visit the home page.

Silver Falchion Award Finalist, Best Investigator 2020

Foreword INDIE Award Finalist, Best Mystery 2020

Elena Hartwell

Author and developmental editor.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Wendy B

    “complete with creepy dolls.” LOL – YES!!!! I absolutely LOVED this book!
    Thanks for the great review!

Leave a Reply